NAIFA-Jacksonville - The National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors



Denny AxmanCongratulations to Denny Axman CLU, ChFC, AEP, CFP®

2017 C.G. Snead/J.F. Bryan III Memorial Award Recipient

A native Kentuckian, Denny Axman attended Bellarmine College in Louisville. He joined The Prudential Insurance Company of America as a representative in Louisville in 1970, and in 1973 he was promoted to management at Prudential. In 1994, he elected to return to personal production and opened his financial planning practice in Jacksonville, FL. Denny retired from Prudential, July 2006, and became an Associate Producer/Financial Planner with Laino & Associates, also in Jacksonville. In July 2007, Denny became a Life Product Wholesaler for Prudential. In March 2009, Denny re-retired from Prudential and joined Pinnacle Insurance and Financial Services as Director of Advanced Marketing & Vice President of Sales. In May 2011, Denny became an Independent Insurance Advisor for Pinnacle. Denny is also a managing partner for Advanced Market Resources, LLC.

Long active in local, state and national Association of Life Underwriters activities, Denny is a member of the Association for Advanced Life Underwriting and has been a member of the Financial Planning Association since 1983. Denny earned his Chartered Life Underwriter designation (CLU) in 1989 and his Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC) designation in 1996. In 1998, he qualified for and was accepted into the Prudential Leaders Council. Denny obtained his Accreditation in Estate Planning (AEP) in February 2000 from the National Association of Estate Planning Council, and he earned his Certified Financial Planner Designation (CFP) in March 2000. He earned his Pension Specialist designation from Prudential in 1991 and has been a member of the Northeast Florida Estate Planning Council for the past 16 years. Denny is also a member of the Jacksonville Society of Financial Service Professionals as well as the Northeast Florida Planned Giving Council. From 2006 to 2008, Denny provided CE workshops for the American College Alumni Association throughout the United States. In November of 2011, Denny was reappointed as an adjunct professor with The American College for the CLU, ChFC and CFP® programs. He’s also held many positions volunteering for the Million Dollar Round Table.

Denny and his wife, Mary Helen, are the parents of three daughters and a son and have six granddaughters, of which two are twins, and four grandsons. They make their home in Orange Park, Florida.

NAIFA-JacksonvilleAbout NAIFA-Jacksonville's C.G. Snead/J.F. Bryan, III Memorial Award

In 1957, shortly after the death of C.G. Snead, Co-founder of the Independent Life and Accident Insurance Company of Jacksonville, Florida, the officers and directors agreed that it would be fitting for the company each year to present to that individual in Jacksonville, and also the state at large, a suitable plaque and silver tray, each to be appropriately inscribed, “For the outstanding service rendered to the public at large and at the same time gave due credit to the insurance industry.”

Due to the stature of the award over the past 39 years, the Board of Directors in December of 1995 agreed to co-name the award in honor of J.F. Bryan, III. As Chairman of the Board of Directors and President, he led Independent Life through a period of unprecedented growth. During these years, Bryan gave unselfishly to the Life Underwriters Association and contributed greatly to its growth as well.

As a result of the company’s sale to American General Corporation, the Board of Directors of Independent Life voted to establish an endowment so that The C.G. Snead / J.F. Bryan, III Memorial Award could continue as the premier association award.

Congratulations to all of our C.G. Snead / J.F. Bryan, III Memorial Award recipients!

2017 - Denny Axman CLU, ChFC, AEP, CFP®
2016 - William "Gene" Bryant
2015 - Paul Broome, CLU, ChFC
2014 - Steven C. Glenn, CLU, ChFC, MSM, MSFS
2013 - Robin Wahby, CLU
2012 - Joseph J. Maltese, CFP®, ChFC, CLU, LUTCF
2011 - Margie Harner
2010 - James Burkett, LUTCF
2009 - James F. Delay, CLU, ChFC
2008 - Cherri Coombs-Ohmer, LUTCF
2007 - Van Mullinax, LUTCF
2006 - William F. Murphy
2005 - Marcus Hatcher, CLU, ChFC, LUTCF
2004 - Michael Halloran, CLU, ChFC, CFP, LUTCF
2003 - Fred Lemmon, CLU, ChFC
2002 - Gary L. Webster, LUTCF
2001 - William C. Florenz, CLU, LUTCF
2000 - Kathy Matthews-Glenn
1999 - Robert T. Tison, LUTCF
1998 - Maureen Kirschhofer, CLU, ChFC
1997 - David W. Perry, LUTCF
1996 - T. O’Neal Douglas
1995 - Bruce Connors, CLU, ChFC
1994 - Thomas Boyd, CLU, ChFC
1993 - Kenneth N. Soud, CLU, ChFC
1992 - J.F. Bryan, IV
1991 - Wilford Lyon, Jr.
1990 - John E. Hazard, CLU, ChFC
1989 - Debra S. Braddock
1988 - Marvin B. Harper, CLU
1987 - Paul A. Broome, CLU, ChFC
1986 - Carter B. Bryan
1985 - Arch W. Cassidy, CLU, ChFC
1984 - C. R. Loverich, CLU, ChFC, RHU
1983 - Fred C. Jackson, CLU 
1982 - Charles A. Bell, CLU, ChFC
1981 - Frank H. Tally, CLU
1979 - Jack Hoffman Quaritius
1978 - L. Hayes Tate, CLU
1977 - H.L. Williams, CLU
1976 - Edward L. Forrest
1974 - Michael P. DeSanto
1973 - William K. Mouro
1971 - Gerald C. Iwanowski
1970 - James C. Gamble, Sr., CLU
1969 - Frank Reyes
1968 - W. Ashley Verlander
1966 - Martin Weiss, CLU
1964 - Robert L. Storey
1962 - W. DeLessep Smith
1962 - William J. Hamrick
1958 - Henry P. Schage





Member Navigation


Member Navigation

Calendar of Events

Member Navigation

Latest News

Member Navigation Awards
Member Navigation Professional Development
Member Navigation Member Benefits
Member Navigation Government Advocacy

Member Navigation

Young Advisors Team

Member Navigation Past Presidents
Member Navigation Suggested Links




For more information, please contact NAIFA-Jacksonville at (904) 695-2300 or